Body Monologues

Eve Ensler, the American playwright, performer, feminist and activist 
best known for “
The Vagina Monologues” wrote the following about her succeeding playwright “The Good Body,” 

This play is my prayer, my attempt to analyze the mechanisms of our imprisonment, to break free so that we may spend more time running the world than running away from it; so that we may be consumed by the sorrow of the world rather than consuming to avoid that sorrow and suffering. This play is an expression of my hope, my desire, that we will all refuse to be Barbie, that we will say no to the loss of the particular, whether it be to a voluptuous woman in a silk sari, or a woman with defining lines of character in her face, or a distinguishing nose, or olivetoned skin, or wild curly hair. 
I am stepping off the capitalist treadmill. I am going to take a deep breath and find a way to survive not being flat or perfect. I am inviting you to join me, to stop trying to be anything, anyone other than who you are. I was moved by women in Africa who lived close to the earth and didn’t understand what it meant to not love their body. I was lifted by older women in India who celebrated their roundness. I was inspired by Marion Woodman, a great Jungian analyst, who gave me confidence to trust what I know. She has said that “instead of transcending ourselves, we must move into ourselves.” 

http://www.ted.com/index.php/speakers/eve_ensler.html

May you have vision, rest, and sweet anticipation in the ‘becoming’ of your particular personhood. 

Leave a comment

Filed under anathallo, Lovemaking

Leave a Reply

