Seeds and Storms

Based on a Leonardo Da’Vinci painting in light of a friend’s vortical experience into motherhood.

(sidenote: the lily is a symbol of purity, but also of erotic love and grace)

 

Annunciation Part I

The white lily, the one from Da’ Vinci’s painting

is all I can smell right now and

You, the one who left your seed with me,

late last night in the scent of a storm

Here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera


The immortal angel, the one from Da’ Vinci’s painting

is who I wished visited me this morning, but instead,

The plastic demigod was the one announcing my plight

And it was late last night in the scent of a storm

Here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera


Here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera

Here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera


The cypress trees, the ones from Da’ Vinci’s painting

is where I long to be found under and near

the roots, the ones that could squeeze my belly tight

late last night in the scent of a storm

Here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera


The warm meets cool and,

the loud march of dark clouds

pervade my sad womb where,

a lily grew and a lily was given where,

an angel was and an angel is far from here where,

the roots squeezed and the roots released


And here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera

And here it is brewing, wrapped within my viscera

1 Comment

Filed under memento vivere

One response to “Seeds and Storms

  1. stacy pietsch

    so amazing, heather. so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

