There’s A Dog Inside, But Must You Hide?

What would you say, if

I,

Pulled the curtains,

the heavy, dense drapery,

Back from it’s restful spot

What would you say, if

I,

Also had a sarcophagus behind

Awaiting the chisel, to emerge

The skeletons of Deny

What would you say, if

I, 

Then took you into a damp, theatrical play

Where I act out my every lie, 

My every defense before Scrutiny’s beam

What would you say, if

I,

Crawled about salivating, swatting at,

Anything that threatens my existence

Anything that comes remotely near, near, near

What would you say, if 

I, 

Used my tears to alleviate my responsibility

Employed raging envy to wound you and me

Invited God to bury my every fiber from ever being seen

What would you say, if

I,

Claimed fitfulness until you changed

Tied you to the tree

Until you confessed your unmentionables to me, only me

What would you do, if

I,

Sat before you  with the dog inside

Growling, moaning, howling

In heat for what I lust and murder over and over

What would you do, if

I,

Am this and that and these and those

Would you hide, must you hide

Will you leave in my creaturely interpretation

Of how I’ve known life,

Yet gnawing at something more

What would you say, if

I,

 

But must you hide?

Leave a comment

Filed under le regard, love, throb

Leave a Reply

