Blustering White Flags

If,

I

Listen to your letters

Which form small, slightly insufficient words

That take up linear space,

describing bits of me

Then,

I

Will have to cast off

the whole of her

Letting loose all the glimmering

Shards

of which I held

in my protective bag with my hands clasped

Tightly around it

And now my soul is

Littered with,

Splintered driftwood

And I can embrace only

That which calls for

Gnashing teeth

Angels

The angels are either,

Buried or Hiding from me

Thus,

don’t articulate the truths that you

See

My infantile receptacle for

Your poignant sentences

Cause me to

Vanish

To a physical place,

into damnation

Yet,

the ghostly “I”  will invoke the gnashing of

Teeth

As I tumble upward

To befall upon us

Nonsense

This nonsense pours out of my skin

If,

Only

it keeps you

From touching

Understanding

Holding

The bits of me

that seemingly deserve

brimstones

that seemingly define

the whole of me

Then,

I am free

Free to roam

One inch to the left

One inch to the right

As the fetters

Feel like slippers

Warming my safe facade

The abuse of

Finality has threatened,

my breathing

my beating

my becoming

Despair is then the undercurrent

Of my vitality

The sounds of

Withering

occur deep within

The noises of

Immunity

protect the outskirts of me

(silence)

The crackling of porcelain

Echoes

Throughout my terrain

Then,

“No”

The slightly insufficient word

Is birthed from my mouth

As fatigue

pulls me to the ground

No

to the illusions

of safety from humanity

No

to the fears

of being vaporous

No

to the vacuous hole

of going to the borders of others

in pursuit of me

Yes

to the quietly merciful reality

of evolution

Yes

to my fallibility

in which I can rest

with you and him and her

The No’s and Yes’s

surface

transpire

grow

break through the dusty ground

And, I am

I am

I am

Leave a comment

Filed under beauty, love, poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

