You Mess with Me, Performance Art: Ash You

Today marks my first performance art piece out of 5 revolving around Lent. Every Wednesday at school I will take 15 minutes to deal with my body in space and time, while interacting with Lenten ideas, emotions, statements and the presence/absence of God–amongst my peers.

My hands are quivering.

As much as I attempt to plot and plan performative pieces, a symbolic flat wall interferes with my hyper-vigilance, signaling me to sit down. Yeah, ok, sit down, right, but I need to know this will be slightly profound or at least genuine to my being. I need to know this won’t humiliate me or cause people to doubt me. And yet without answers or promises, I place myself in these situations and yet I really love this art form and yet I trust the process, somehow. This makes me wonder and conclude that I truly want to see myself survive the doubts, disagreements, and disbelief in who I am and what I present.

Will I trust the process and allow myself to feel, follow, and become what is larger than my being?

Hopefully.

Will those around me do the same?

Hopefully.

If not, then this is a public conversation between God and me, between me and me, between my humanness and yours.

And, that’s enough for me.

2 Comments

Filed under art

2 responses to “You Mess with Me, Performance Art: Ash You

  1. I’d say you survived beautifully.

  2. oo dang i didnt know about this. how can we know what time to look for the next one? or is it a surprize..

Leave a Reply

