The Pains and Joy of Growth: sisters befriending, sisters betrothing, and sisters prevailing

I just keep thinking about riding my first bicycle
And you entering into the world,
vulnerable
As I too,
vulnerable
At the mercy of caregivers,
balance,
and gravity
we have grown comfort
able
in this milieu
or least stumblingly able
to see and be
yet often,
sometimes
without
beloved comfort

I just keep thinking about my newly growing body of length
And still frames of your adorable primate self,
mid air
As I too,
mid air
With our physical forms telling us stories to come
go
come
go, stay?
we’ve each played our games of
skin that cat
haven’t we?
and being in the middle of air
slows down
and accentuates
the scuffling
over
and
in
our bodies

I just keep thinking about my retreats to the basement
And your earnest extension for amity,
hands open
As I too,
hands open
Though mine were behind a door and sometimes entangled
love me,
love you
love what is
love is sometimes impatient, unkind, unforgiving, envious, and
broken
to know love is to know these famished pulsations of
you
and
me
and still find the “able”
that’s often,
sometimes
without
the comfort

I just keep thinking about you as my younger sister
And how age has allotted me the view of you unfolding,
a woman
As I too,
a woman
Examining, searching, investigating those places
reveal
hide
reveal,
hide, how do you do both,
simultaneously?
Wait,
you are no longer
a sister
no, we’ve come
to the inner circles
of supposed vestiges
yet inviting and,
remembering
femininity
care
voice

In one elementary sense,
you’ve caught up with me

I just keep thinking about the history that has shaped me
is vastly different from how it has shaped you
We’ve shared the same origin,
the same womb,
the same canal that beckoned us to face life
the same arms
from the same mother
that fed us the same milk
again, from the same breasts
As much as duplication can deceive,
our lives, hearts, minds, bodies formed
differently
and thank the gods
For if it weren’t for your difference,
your emergence from the chrysalis,
of generational echoing,
your anger,
your desire to see and be
alive
with others,
if it weren’t for your sisterhood and friendship
my vulnerability,
body,
retreating,
and ability to love
would have been waning,
with lack of colors,
lack of thoughts
pushes,
screams,
laughter
Thankfully,
instead,
you were given
to the world
and the world has been given to you
Thus,
we celebrate and
pay tribute
to the woman,
lover,
sister,
and friend
who brings
the able, the struggle, and ironically,
the comfort
through knowing you

4 Comments

Filed under marriage, poetry, seasons

4 responses to “The Pains and Joy of Growth: sisters befriending, sisters betrothing, and sisters prevailing

  1. Heidi

    so beautiful.

  2. Emilee

    wow


    cheers.

  3. oof. thank you. i needed a copy of this. gorgeous.

  4. Pingback: DearHeatherMarie

Leave a Reply

